The Ugly Truth About My Bittersweet 2016

So 2016 is coming to an end very soon, and here I am reminiscing the 2016 moments.

2016 has been a very challenging year for me, I must say. It started out pretty well but not as great as what I expected it to be. The first couple of months into 2016 were very hectic, with me trying to adapt to some big life changes which I did not favor in the first place. 
In the midst of adapting, SS and I went for a mini break to Krabi in February for 4 days and it turned out to be one my most enjoyable trips. Krabi succeeded way beyond my expectation and to be honest, I really don’t mind visiting Krabi again. Going for this trip was definitely one of the highlights in 2016 and one of the best decisions we made, of course not knowing what we were about to face in the 2nd Quarter of 2016.

one of the best places I’ve been

The 2nd Quarter of 2016 hit off with my one and only sister’s wedding in July which all went well, Alhamdulillah. Then something I never imagined happening to me, happened and it broke me into pieces, not gonna lie. I felt that my life was over, everything was ruined and I felt like giving up on everything. It was those moments that you feel like life is so unfair and there were too many questions I needed to be answered there and then. 
No jokes, I am currently still coping and accepting with what had happened in July. It’s been 6 months since and I am still recovering. During those hard times, I was very, very lucky to have SS around whom has been my shoulder to cry on and my backbone. He has been there 24/7 during my sudden tantrums and constant tears throughout the day. He kept on reminding me of Allah’s powers and that things happened because of His will. Although we do know all these but sometimes it just feels better when someone close to you says it out loud, you know what I mean? 
Anyway, this particular event made my life upside down in the most horrible way you and I can imagine. Thank God I wasn’t sitting for any big exams at that time or I would have flunked ’em good. Also, I must thank my lucky stars that work has been such a bitch to me during that particular hard times which made me “forget” during the day that I am actually going through one hella rollercoaster ride. 
As I am writing this now, I feel like my tears are about to fall yet again. Thinking about what I had to go through for the past 6 months, was unimaginable. But today, few days to a brand new year I have promised myself that I will not be bringing the “2016 pain” into 2017. For my own good. 

On that note, by far, 2016 has been a very memorable year for me. So what has 2016 taught me and how it made me be a better person? These :-

#1 How to grow, learn and accept that not everyone and everything would be perfect like what I imagine and hope it to be. 

#2 Anything CAN happen with Allah’s will and there will be a silver lining. 

#3 To ALWAYS count my blessings and be thankful for what I have now.

#4 To NEVER, never take anything for granted.

I will now end all my 2016 sorrows today, on the last day of 2016. Cheers 2016, you’ve been a hella ride but here’s hoping for a better year ahead, in sha Allah 2017 will be our year to shine!


Till then,

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! X
Leave a Reply

