Maybelline | Baby Skin Pore Eraser Primer

What are makeup primers? What do they do exactly? Do you need them? 
These are the few questions that I had when I first heard of primers. Truthfully, I wasn’t sold at first on when some said that primers are important and is one of the essential steps if you want long-lasting makeup. So I continued read on other articles to better understand on what are primers. In short, primers would be a base for the foundation/ face makeup that will allows it to go on smoother and make it last longer. 
After a number of reads on primers and finally convinced, I went to the drugstore and perfect timing, my eyes caught the Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser Primer on the drugstore shelves. This Maybelline Primer is one of the most raved drugstore primers among the beauty gurus, so without much thought I picked it up.
maybelline baby skin pore eraser primer
RM 29.90
I have had this Maybelline Primer in my collection for some time, probably more than 6 months now. This was the only primer I had in my stash back then so I had no other primers to compare it with but recently after much research, I purchased the Catrice Prime and Fine Pore Refining Anti-Shine Base and finally I can now share the pros and cons I had with this Maybelline Primer. 
One of the main reasons I was intrigued with this product was because it claims that it would “blur” pores which was very important to me as I have very, very large pores. On that note, I was very excited to see if this “magical” product works and that I can finally cover my pot-holes pores. 
maybelline baby skin pore eraser primer
So did it worked? Sadly, nope. This Maybelline Primer did not only failed to “blur” my pores, it surprisingly made my skin very dry. 
This Maybelline Primer is gel-like, has quite a thick watery texture and its transparent. After the first try I said to myself that maybe this Maybelline Primer needs to be used a couple more times to “work”, but unfortunately it didn’t. After using this product religiously everyday for the first 3 months after the purchase, I was very frustrated and disappointed that this raved product just didn’t work at all for me. Is it because I have dry skin, or is it because I live in a humid country so probably this Maybelline Primer wouldn’t work here?
I had tons of questions that no one could answer so in the end I just made my conclusion that this Maybelline Primer just wasn’t right for me. Don’t get me wrong, I wanted to love this product as much as the others did but I just couldn’t especially after trying the Catrice Prime and Fine Pore Refining Anti-Shine Base and it worked on my skin! Will post a review on that soon too. 
maybelline baby skin pore eraser primer

My final thoughts on this Maybelline Primer, if you have big large pores like me, stay away from this product. Also, do note that this Maybelline Primer does not last that long, probably up to 4 hours max which is not a big deal for me, personally. On that note, you might need to powder your face frequently if you do wear your makeup for a long period of time. 
Repurchase : Nope.
Rating : ♥♡♡♡♡


Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated.

6 thoughts on “Maybelline | Baby Skin Pore Eraser Primer

Leave a Reply

