Book Review | November 9 by Colleen Hoover

“Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in LA together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricationg a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.”- Goodreads
My first ever book from Colleen Hoover and I am in love. It didn’t take me long into the book that I realise I love her style of writing, her narration and the characters. I picked up this book without knowing anything about it other than that it was pretty much loved by everyone I know and of course, high ratings on Goodreads.
So while browsing for free PDF copies on my iPhone, there it was November 9 pdf copy for free. Truthfully, the cover wasn’t that appealing to me but at that time I just wanted to fill up my PDF books in the iBooks app so I thought to myself might as well I add November 9 to my collection, and I am so glad that I did.
Before I get to my thoughts and review on this book, lemme tell you how much of a reader that I currently am at the age of 29. Honestly, not much. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE BOOKS. Reading is my passion. Reading is required for my day job. See how much I love reading? lol okay back to business. So yes, I am very much a reader but nowadays I just don’t have the time to read books let alone stay up all night reading just like I used to 10 yrs ago. I am the type that will have a very hard time putting down a book even at 3am provided that the book is interesting, obviously. Staying up and reading up until 3 in the morning is very normal to me. 
On that note, November 9 did just that. I literally stayed up until 12am (good enough considering it was weekdays) for 3 whole days just to finish this book. See that determination? Just because November 9 was ONE GODDAMN GOOD OF A BOOK. It was just so GOOD that I forgot I am a 29 year old woman with tons of responsibilities that start at 6am everyday. 
It has been quite a while since I’ve read a good book just like this, and honestly I cannot even remember the last goddamn good book I’ve read. 
Lemme summarise November 9 in my own words without any spoilers;
|| November 9 is a special date for 2 youngsters namely Fallon and Ben. Initially one of them thought they met unexpectedly but further in the book you’ll find out why I said one of them. Both of them had gone through difficulties in life which they slowly realised that there were some similarities between them. So the first time they met was on the night before Fallon had to leave to a different state and yes it was November 9th. They spent the night together talking and ended up promising each other that they will see each other on November 9 for 5 years straight at the same place they first met with a condition that both of them will never exchange phone numbers nor Facebook so that they won’t be able to communicate with each other for a whole year. Why 5 yrs you ask? Well they were 19 when they first met and Fallon has this thing that only when she’s 24 she thinks she’ll be ready to love someone, hence the 5 years rule. ||
 I think I might stop just there before I end up telling you guys the whole story. You just have to read it for yourself, I promise you its interesting but ONLY IF you are into cheesy, romantic storylines. 
Anyways, November 9 has given me the “butterflies in the stomach” feeling throughout the entire book. From the beginning till the end, the butterflies didn’t leave my stomach at all. I kid you not. Colleen Hoover, in my honest opinion, did very well with this book. Her writing, story and plotline, characters, everything-lah, she nailed it 100 percent. 
There were a lot of surprises and “OMG” moments especially towards the half of the book, which will definitely make you go “Whaaaaaaat?!” and “AAAAAAAAA”. Both of them go through numerous situations where they wish they had exchange phone numbers and would be able to confide each other like normal human beings. Ahhh I just cannot explain how breathtaking this story was to me. You just gotta read it once in your lifetime and because I loved this book so freaking much, I am gonna get myself the physical book just because. Really, you just have to read it to understand what in the world I am talking about. On that note, I will leave you guys with some quotes from November 9 that I love.


 “You can’t leave yet. I’m not finished falling in love with you.”

“You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”

“Falling in love may not be a conscious decision, but removing yourself from the situation before it happens is.”

“This is real life, and in the real world your have to bust your ass for the happy ever after… When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go.” 

“People can’t miss what they’ve never been intoruced to.”

“One of the things I always try to remind myself is that everyone has scars.”

“Fallon, we’ve been dating for 2 hours now. I can read you like a book, and right now I do believe that book is full of erotica.”

“I know he’s only putting on an act, but no one has ever taken up for me like this before. It’s making my lungs feel like they’re seizing up. Stupid lungs.”

These are some of the quotes that I’ve bookmarked. I might re-read once I get my hands on the physical copy and will probably highlight my life away in the book. Oh the characters may be young but I don’t see this as a Young Adult (YA) book because there were quite number of erotic scenes that could turn the young readers off.  But if you think you are matured enough and you could handle ’em, I won’t judge. 🙂
Rating : 

Have you read them? Did you enjoyed it? Would love to hear your thoughts!

Till then,
XO,
Amirah Z.
Leave a Reply

