Affordable Drugstore Eyeliners and Mascara | Malaysia Edition

The only step that I will never forget to do before I leave my comfort zone ie my home, is to do my eyes. The simplest eye makeup for me would be curling my lashes and I am good to go. Hence, having the perfect eyeliner and mascara is essential to me. 
When it comes to eye makeup, I will always go back to my trusted eye makeup partner in crime, Maybelline. Especially for mascara. Maybelline is known for their affordable, top notch quality for their mascaras and I couldn’t agree more. Today’s post will be on my current stash of drugstore eyeliners and mascaras that you are able to purchase from our local Watsons/Guardian/Aeon Wellness.

 silkygirl lash prismwatsons malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence malaysia, silkygirl malaysia, maybelline malaysia, maybelline lash sensational mascara, silkygirl big eye opener mascara, silkygirl lash prism mascara, essence mascara, maybelline hyper sharp eyeliner, silkygirl perfect sharp eyeliner, maybelline colossal kajal
I currently have 4 mascaras and 3 eyeliners all from Maybelline, Silkygirl and Essence. Don’t ask me why I need to have 4 mascaras heh. I just love trying out new mascara especially now, from the Essence line as I’ve heard that their mascaras are quite good. 
For me, I would look for mascaras that “promises” length and volume to the eyelashes. I have boring, straight-down eyelashes that are quite difficult to work with unless that mascara is really top notch then only I am able to see my eyelashes go long and thick. 
As for eyeliner, I prefer using liquid pen liner cos I can draw my winged liner easily compared to using a crayon/pencil liner. However, I do use the crayon/pencil liner sometimes to line my tightline if I am in the mood to do that, but most of time my eye makeup usually comprises winged eye liner and mascara. 
1. Maybelline Lash Sensational = RM34.90
2. Essence I ❤ Extreme (Volume Mascara) = RM15.90

 silkygirl lash prismwatsons malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence malaysia, silkygirl malaysia, maybelline malaysia, maybelline lash sensational mascara, silkygirl big eye opener mascara, silkygirl lash prism mascara, essence mascara, maybelline hyper sharp eyeliner, silkygirl perfect sharp eyeliner, maybelline colossal kajal

My current and all time favourite mascara has to be this Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara. This mascara is everything you guys. It lengthens my lashes so panjang, it curls my lashes perfectly and this mascara does not clump at all! I really don’t know how Maybelline does it but it does its job flawlessly. 
The only downside of this mascara is that it doesn’t voluminize my lashes that well. I would love my lashes to be thick and long, but this mascara only lengthens the lashes well. Thus, I will usually end up using 2 different mascaras at one go, 1 for lengthening and the other 1 for voluminizing. 
  • Repurchase? OF COURSE YES.
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥
This Essence mascara is the first ever mascara from this brand that I’ve tried and I did not quite like it. This Essence mascara didn’t voluminize my lashes, on its own, as I thought it would and just like the reviews I’ve read on Essence mascaras. Then I found out that a different type of Essence mascara was the raved one and not this black tube ie it was the blue and pink tubes. Side note to myself : pick those ones up soon. 
After a couple of times using this mascara solely on its own, I decided to use this Essence mascara after putting on the Maybelline Lash Sensational and surprisingly it works better! But of course, with multiple layers of mascara, it gets very clumpy. Not the kind of look I prefer but as for now I am gonna finish this tube quickly and try the other Essence mascaras.
  • Repurchase? Nope.
  • Rating? ♥♥♥

3. SilkyGirl Lash Prism Mascara = RM18.90
4. SilkyGirl Big Eye Collagen Waterproof Mascara = RM26.60

 silkygirl lash prismwatsons malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence malaysia, silkygirl malaysia, maybelline malaysia, maybelline lash sensational mascara, silkygirl big eye opener mascara, silkygirl lash prism mascara, essence mascara, maybelline hyper sharp eyeliner, silkygirl perfect sharp eyeliner, maybelline colossal kajal
These two mascaras from SilkyGirl are definitely an “Instagram made me buy it” purchase. I read so many great revies on both these mascaras but sadly it didn’t quite work for me.
The Lash Prism mascara as stated on the tube, is to help lengthen the lashes and curl them nicely. But that didn’t happen to my stubborn lashes. I love the wand, just the right size for my small eyes but the mascara liquid itself was the main problem I had with it. The mascara liquid is so watery that whenever I open the cover, the liquid will slowly spill all over the tube. Application wise, I had no problems. Oh and I don’t like the small, it has a very strong chemical smell.

  • Repurchase? Nope
  • Rating? ♥♥

As for the Big Eye mascara, it claims to again, lengthen the lashes and make your eyes look much bigger with perfect curled and long lashes. Well this one did lengthen my lashes but it didn’t thicken my lashes. I suppose the formula is only to lengthen the lashes not to volumnize kan? That is why after using this mascara to lengthen my lashes, I apply a few coats of a volumnizing mascara on top of this mascara and I am done. A bit clumpy yes, but not as bad when using the Lash Prism one. 
  • Repurchase? Don’t think so.
  • Rate? ♥♥♥

5. SilkyGirl Perfect SHARP Eyeliner = RM20.90
6. Maybelline Colossal Kajal = RM21
7. Maybelline Hypersharp Liner Laser Precision = RM29.90

 silkygirl lash prismwatsons malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence malaysia, silkygirl malaysia, maybelline malaysia, maybelline lash sensational mascara, silkygirl big eye opener mascara, silkygirl lash prism mascara, essence mascara, maybelline hyper sharp eyeliner, silkygirl perfect sharp eyeliner, maybelline colossal kajal
Now, time for eyeliners. As I mentioned earlier, I love pen liquid liners. For me, its really easy to use and manouever the pen on the lids especially when drawing winged-eyeliners.
My current favourite eyeliner is the SilkyGirl Perfect Sharp Eyeliner and its the cheapest among the 3 eyeliners I currently own! I never expected this to be SOOOO good but trust me, it is THAT good. It is even better than the Maybelline Hypersharp Liner, for me lah. This SilkyGirl liner glides on my lid effortlessly and no smudge can be seen. It dries fast, the eyeliner tip is just the right size especially winged-eyeliner lovers like me. No cons I could think of for this SilkyGirl liner, I definitely RECOMMEND this eyeliner to everyone. TRY IT.
  • Repurchase? DEFINITELY YES
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥♥

The Maybelline Hypersharp Liner used to be my everyday eyeliner until I found the SilkyGirl liner. This Maybelline liner does lives up to its expecation but because it is a bit more pricier than the SilkyGirl one, I would of cos purchase the cheaper one duhh. But overall, this Maybelline eyeliner is one of the best eyeliners I’ve tried.

  • Repurchase? Only if SilkyGirl stop its Perfect Sharp Eyeliner production
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥

The last eyeliner is the Colossal Kajal which is a crayon-like eyeliner which I rarely use to be honest. This liner cannot be used for winged-eyeliner but it works wonderfully if you love tightlining your eyes. The tip of the crayon is just the right size to tightline your eyes but be careful as it does smudge easily.
  • Repurchase? Nope. I rarely tightline my eyes
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥

 silkygirl lash prismwatsons malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence malaysia, silkygirl malaysia, maybelline malaysia, maybelline lash sensational mascara, silkygirl big eye opener mascara, silkygirl lash prism mascara, essence mascara, maybelline hyper sharp eyeliner, silkygirl perfect sharp eyeliner, maybelline colossal kajal

So these are my current eyeliners and mascaras I have in my drawer. What about you? Do you collect as many eyeliners and mascaras too? Which ones are worth trying? Do lemme know, would love to hear your thoughts!

XO,
Amirah Z.

Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated. 

Leave a Reply

