Affordable Face Primers | Malaysia Edition

How important are face primers to you? Do you use it religiously before applying your face makeup or you don’t mind missing this step? For me, when I started to use makeup I didn’t even know the existence of primers. Haha. Truth to be told, I only found out about primers probably early last year. Anyways, ever since then I’ve used primer mostly everyday before my full faced makeup routine. Sometimes I do skip putting on primers (sebab malas) especially when I have CC cream on. 
So because I don’t quite take primers seriously, I only own drugstore ones. HAHA. Cheapskate, I know. A girl has got different priorities hence if these affordable primers do the trick why should one buy expensive ones? #justsaying BUT I’m not saying don’t buy those high-end primers, if you have the $$ to spend, by all means do because I know I would if I have that extra $$. 
My primers collection
If you notice, I included the Biore UV Face Milk in my primers collection. Yep this is actually a sunblock but it works as a primer too. All these products I got off the rack from my local Watsons and Guardian, not more than RM30 if I’m not mistaken.
1. Nivea Men Replenishing Post Shave Balm (Originals) = RM 22.90
2. Catrice Prime and Fine Pore Refining Anti-Shine Base = RM 24.90

Favorite cream-based primers
I bet everyone knows about the magical Nivea Men’s Post Shave Balm since Nikkie Tutorials introduced to the Youtube family months ago. However, she introduced the Sensitive Post Shave Balm which unfortunately we don’t have it here in Malaysia. This is the closest I could find and thankfully it works just fine, I think. From what I’ve heard and read on the Sensitive balm, this Originals balm does not differ much from the Sensitive one. 
This Originals balm does mattify my face throughout the whole day, my makeup stays put like theres no tomorrow, it eliminates oil and shine from my face, it does have a strong smell but I don’t mind and a little goes a long way. I don’t have any setbacks with this one hence making this Post Shave Balm one of my favorite primers of all time.

  • Repurchase? If by the time I finish this whole bottle and there is still no affordable primer that does the job, definitely will purchase this again.
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥
As for the Catrice primer, this is the newest addition to my collection of primers and I LOVE THIS. This has to be my most favorite primer ever, the Nivea one comes close second. First of all, its dirt cheap, not gonna lie. Although it is only 30ml but a little goes a long way for this one too. I’ve been using this ever since I’ve gotten this early July and I still have more than half the tube to go. 
This primer I tell you is soooooo good. It works just as good as the Nivea Post Shave Balm but of course the size of the tube makes it so much easier to bring everywhere. This Catrice primer really does what the tube claims it to be, it does refine my big pores to almost “not there”, it mattifies my T-zone oh so well and it doesn’t have any scent. I cannot stress enough how much I adore this primer, will definitely keep on repurchasing this unless and until I find a better (drugstore of course) one. RECOMMENDED

  • Repurchase? YES
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥
3. Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser = RM 29.90

Silicone based primer

This was the first ever primer I got my hands on, and it didn’t work on me. Sad. Read many reviews on this and some say it did work for them. I suppose it did make my foundation last a tad longer than usual but it definitely did not blur my large pores. Probably it could “erase” the smaller pores but meh it just didn’t work for me. Plus I have combination skin, this primer does not work well with my oily T-zone. Overall I am not in favour of this primer but it might work for you. It is slightly pricier and smaller (22ml) that the Catrice one.

  • Repurchase? Nah
  • Rating? ♥♥

4. Biore UV Perfect Face Milk = RM28
5. Essence Eyeshadow base = RM15.80


Eyeshadow primer & Sunblock
My favorite (and only) sunblock I own. Love this sunblock, its lightweight, no weird smell, does not make my face oily, a little goes a long way and the list goes on. I don’t there is anything I don’t like about this sunblock. It does not give me breakouts, thank god plus it has made my skin a lot more bearable to tell you the truth. All I know is that I’ll continue to repurchase this until I heard/read on something even better. Remember gals/guys, sunblock is ESSENTIAL. Never forget to put your sunblock on EVERYDAY before you leave home. Very, very important.
  • Repurchase? 50-50
  • Rating? ♥♥♥

Last but not least, my one and only eyeshadow primer. I’ve written a review on this primer here, back in April and yes it hasn’t run out yet. I use this primer almost everyday but you see, you only need a tiny bit for both eyelids. Don’t think this primer will be running out anytime soon but hey I ain’t complaining! 
  • Repurchase? YES, if the other drugstore brands does not produce good quality eye primers
  • Rating? ♥♥♥

Do share you favorite face/eyeshadow primers. Would love to explore!
Till then,
XO,
Amirah Z,

Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated. 

Leave a Reply

