Drugstore Foundation & Face Powder Collection | Malaysia Edition

maybelline, loreal, sephora, essence, elianto, maybelline malaysia, sephora malaysia, loreal malaysia, essence malaysia, elianto malaysia, drugstore foundation, watsons malaysia, guardian
Heyya! Today I’ll be sharing with you my foundation and compact powders collection. This collection of mine is quite small ‘cos I don’t know how to find the right shade for my skin. Haha! Thus everytime before I purchase any foundation, I’ll go to www.findation.com and key in the shade that I am most comfortable with which is the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation in the shade Barcelona. Love this website as it has made my foundation shopping a tad easier. 
So because I love the NARS foundation so much I became a bit stingy upon using the foundation ie I tend to only use my NARS for special occassions or date nights je. Haha. Yep thats how kedekut I am with my NARS. For me its very pricey hence it deserves to be used on special days only. On that note, I am always on the hunt to find great + affordable drugstore foundation that will not break my bank AND importantly that I can use it everyday. 
Till today, I have found a couple of my Holy Grail (HG) drugstore foundations but of course just like every makup junkie in the world,  the search for the affordable foundation will not end here. Teehee. So here I present to you my current foundation collection.
Sephora 10hr Perfect Foundation (30 Medium Sand) = RM 78
Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation (310 Sun Beige) = RM50
Loreal True Match Super Blendable Liquid Foundation (G2 Golden Shell) = RM 53
and my 2 compact powders that I use religiously everyday:-
Elianto Smooth Wear Face Powder (04 Warm Beige) = can’t remember, sorry!
Essence Mattifying Compact Powder (04 Perfect Beige) = RM15.90
maybelline, loreal, sephora, essence, elianto, maybelline malaysia, sephora malaysia, loreal malaysia, essence malaysia, elianto malaysia, drugstore foundation, watsons malaysia, guardian

Some may disagree with me when I say Sephora is considered affordable. Ok, ok its not that cheap BUT it is soooooo good I have no regrets. No kidding. This foundation could easily be on par as my NARS
To be honest with you, I have been contemplating a whole lot before purchasing this Sephora foundation. After weeks of research and going to Sephora holding the bottle and putting it down and walked away, after numerous “Add In Cart” on the Sephora website, I finally calm my tits down and purchased this baby at Sephora Nu Sentral and until today I am still so proud of myself for finally picking it up. 

I have combination of oily and dry skin which sometimes my dry patches on my cheeks and around my mouth can be very visible. This Sephora foundation is magical I tell you or probably my face primer is magical. Hmmm food for thought. Anyway this foundation does not dry out my skin even more, it mattifies my face tremendously well, its not thick at all BUT it does a great job in covering my scars and even out my skin tone. This foundation is perfect for anyone that does not favor having thick foundation everyday but still needs that full coverage. This foundation is for you. You can see in my photos that among all 3 foundations, the Sephora is the most used so far eventhough its the last purchase between the 3. Thats how much I love this foundation. This is a foundation I definitely recommend to those that are looking for a great (and not that pricey) foundation, this Sephora foundation is definitely worth trying.

  • Repurchase? YES but different shade
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥
maybelline, loreal, sephora, essence, elianto, maybelline malaysia, sephora malaysia, loreal malaysia, essence malaysia, elianto malaysia, drugstore foundation, watsons malaysia, guardian
My second favourite is the Maybelline Fit Me! Foundation which sadly we cannot get this at our physical drugstores. Hopefully Maybelline Malaysia hears my pleas and bring them in ASAP. During my teens, Maybelline has always been my number 1 brand to-go-to for makeup, be it foundation or powder or blushes. I used to love using their Matte Mouse but I think they have change to a different formula for their current mouse products. Anyhoo, I swatched some of their foundations in Watsons/Guardian but none of them seem appealing to me. 
Hence, made researches online and found that most beauty gurus love the Fit Me! collection. Then I began searching for IG sellers that does pre-orders or ready stocks for this particular Maybelline foundation and I found one. Apologies I totally forgot to jot down the IG seller in my notebook but if I ever do remember I will update her name here okay. Plus ‘fret not, you can just search #MaybellineMalaysia or #SayaJualMaybelline on IG and tons of seller will appear on your screen.
So this Maybelline Fit Me! foundation does exactly what it says on the bottle, Matte + Poreless. If you don’t know, I have big moon-like pores on my face. With this foundation thankfully it does make my pores less visible than normal which I love. Its really hard to conceal my pores without the right concealer but hey for everyday face makeup, I don’t mind having less visible pores. Makes it more natural gitu. And yes, it makes my face matte habis. No oil peeks through my skin when I have this foundation on. LOOOOOVE this.
  • Repurchase? Yes but only if my local pharmacies start bringing them in 😦
  • Rating? ♥♥♥♥
maybelline, loreal, sephora, essence, elianto, maybelline malaysia, sephora malaysia, loreal malaysia, essence malaysia, elianto malaysia, drugstore foundation, watsons malaysia, guardian
Last but not least is my least favourite drugstore foundation from Loreal. Used to love this but it worsen my dry patches on my face. It looks so horrible I tell you. I don’t recommend this foundation to dry skin girls and that has big pores like me. Even with a face primer, I could still see my pores. This foundation feels thick on the skin which I am not a fan of. 
This foundation can be found at your Watsons/Guardian and any other pharmacy stores near you but the shades are limited. Here I got the Golden Shell shade which  turned out fairer on my skin. 
  • Repurchase? Nope
  • Rating? ♥♥
maybelline, loreal, sephora, essence, elianto, maybelline malaysia, sephora malaysia, loreal malaysia, essence malaysia, elianto malaysia, drugstore foundation, watsons malaysia, guardian
Swatches (L-R)
Loreal, Maybelline, Sephora
As you can see, the Loreal is the most fairest among all 3 and definitely not my shade. Maybelline is the closest to my shade with the right undertone which the Sephora foundation has a bit of pink undertone to it which surprisingly turned out ok on my skin. 
Next, are face powders which I have only 2. 1 is from Elianto which I got this a looong time ago and the latest one is the Essence compact powder. 
maybelline, loreal, sephora, essence, elianto, maybelline malaysia, sephora malaysia, loreal malaysia, essence malaysia, elianto malaysia, drugstore foundation, watsons malaysia, guardian
Previously I’ve used the Elianto Loose Powder which I LOVED but it was so big and diffcult to bring around with me. So thought I would try their pressed powder next but it was nothing compared to their loose powder. Their pressed powder is nothing to shout about, it does set my face and eliminates the oiliness but not for long. I don’t like it nor hate it though. Just wanna finish it soon to so that I can try new ones.

  • Repurchase? Don’t think its available anymore
  • Rating? ♥♥♥
As for the Essence powder, well it does its job. For the price, I didn’t expect much. Will not repurchase both powders just ‘cos I wanna try other drugstore powders especially the loose powder ones.

  • Repurchase? Nah. Gonna try others
  • Rating? ♥♥♥

I heard the SilkyGirl loose power is as great as the Revlon Loose Powder which is a dupe to the Laura Mercier Loose Seting Powder. Have any of you tried the SilkyGirl/Revlon one? How did it fare? Worth trying tak?

Sorry this post came up super long. So yes these are my foundation that I use daily. I would love to try the other drugstore brands, hopefully soon. There’s a whole lot of good reviews on drugstore brands such as Essence, Catrice, Revlon, Bourjois and many more that we can easily get here in Malaysia. 
Oh and I think I will probably do a more in-depth review on my HG/Favourite Foundations in a different post. What do you think? Plus any suggestions on which Essence, Catrice, Revlon and Bourjois foundation or any foundation for that matter is worth trying? 
Would love to hear from YOU!
XO,
Amirah Z.
Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated. 
Leave a Reply

