Review #6 : Silky Girl

Assalamualaikum and Heya Ladies & Gents! How ya’ll been doing? Today I’ll be sharing with ya’ll my Silky Girl collection (so far) which has a mixture of old and new goodies. 
Truthfully, I wasn’t a big fan of Silky Girl mainly because of their quality BUT that was during the early days of their existence. NOW they have definitely step up their make up game and I am proud to say that Silky Girl is now the same par as the other well-known drugstore makeup brands AND the only thing that they maintained all these years are their PRICE. Silky Girl products are still very much reasonable huuurah!
Oh I think I must mention this, for Silky Girl I’ve only been buying/collecting eye and lip products cos to me these are the only products worth getting (so far) from them, in my opinion but hey don’t let this stop you from trying their other products, They might just work for you!
So, what’s in my stash? 
silky girl, seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
2 mascara
1 eyeliner
2 eyebrow pen
2 lip liner
1 lip crayon
1 lipstick (matte)

Let’s start off with the brows, which is my least favourite step to do in my makeup routine. LOL. Not that I hate my brows but I just don’t have the patience (nor time!) to nicely draw my brows to the perfect shape. You see, I have unruly and thick brows anyone would think of having. Dah la dark, tebal pulak tu. Can you imagine how in the world would I be able to properly shape ’em? TBH sometimes I’ll just leave my eyebrows they way they are and keluar jela rumah camtu. Yup, IDGAF. 
But ever since I found the Silky Girl Hi-Definition Brow Liner and Expert Brow Slim Liner (both in dark brown) my drawing brows days are so much brighter. These brow liners are so darn perfect that I am beginning to enjoy shaping my brows they way I want them to be. 
1. Eyebrow
silky girl , eyebrow , brow liner , seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
HI-DEFINITION BROW LINER (Dark Brown 02) & 
EXPERT BROW SLIM LINER (Dark Brown 02)

From now onwards these Silky Girl brow liners are my Holy Grail (HG) eyebrow products. They are super creamy, super easy to use and blendable. I have the dark brown colours which I love as it doesn’t make my thick brows darker. The best part is they are so darn affordable
The (only) difference that I could think of between the Hi-Definition and Slim Liner is that the Slim Liner crayon is so much slimmer, hence the name, and thinner compared to the Hi-Definition. The rest are pretty much the same between the two, the colours, the  pigments and their formula are pretty much similar to each other.
The only downside on these brow liners are that this crayons sangat senang patah. Tip, jangan pusingkan crayon tu panjang-panjang. When in use, make sure the crayon is short and just  nice to draw your eyebrows. 

  • My Review :  One of my HG products. Need I say more? Oh if I gotta choose between these 2 liners, the Hi-Definition one wins just because I feel that the Expert Slim breaks easier compared to the Hi-Definition. Recommended.
  • My Rating : 4.5/5 stars
    2. Eyeliner

    silky girl , eyeliner , seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
    SILKYGIRL PERFECT SHARP EYELINER

    I.LOVE.THIS. This could easily replace my HG eyeliners from Maybelline. Oh no wait scratch that, this could easily be on par with the Maybelline Hyper Sharp Liner but of course, SilkyGirl would be the “cheaper” version. 
    This glides so effortlessly on my oily eyelids, it dries instantly and it stays on for such a long time no kid. The pen tip is not hard yet not that soft which makes it very easy to draw your favourite winged-liner and its a very user friendly product especially for beginners and people with non-steady hands like yours truly here. This eyeliner is almost perfect ke memang dah perfect? Try it and lemme know!
    • My Review : Suka gila suka gila suka gila. Don’t think I’m gonna change nor TRY any other eyeliners for awhile. Am gonna stick with this cos it works for me, so why the change? Plus its so freaking affordable OMG. I cannot exactly remember how much but I’m pretty sure it costs less than RM20. Still need more reasons to try? Recommended.
    • My Review : 5/5 stars. YES.

    3. Mascara

    silky girl , mascara , lash prism , big eye , seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
    LASH PRISM & BIG EYE
    Hmm SilkyGirl mascara, for me, are a bit tricky to use. I’ve heard numerous raves on their mascara especially the Big Eye, but to my disappointment they didn’t quite work for me. Not sure whether I used it the wrong way or probably the formula of these mascaras just didn’t work on my awfully stubborn straight lashes. 
    The Lash Prism retails at RM18.90, cheap for a mascara. At first glance the wand looks pleasing and just the right size for small Asian eyes but to much despair the formula was just very disappointing. Oh and this mascara has this strong chemical smell that will definitely scare you away. I don’t really know why this didn’t work out for me cos I’ve read positive feedbacks on this same mascara, MAYBE I didn’t curl my lashes properly. Meh.
    • My Review : This mascara didn’t curl my lashes the way the Maybelline Lash Sensational did, it did thicken my lashes but in a “spidery” way ie it clumps my lashes and made them so ugly looking. And yep it smudged all over my lids. I am so sorry but this really was a disappointing mascara for me. Not recommended for stubborn-downwards lashes.
    • My Rating : 0/5 stars.
    As for the Big Eye mascara, this initially didn’t work on my lashes too but it took me a number of tries to make it work cos of the earlier disappointment with the Lash Prism. Although it did separate my lashes and lengthens them but I felt that this mascara didn’t last long at all! Few hours down the road my lashes went back to their normal state ie downwards. Beats me how that could happen. So yep another disappointment product from SilkyGirl. Oh and this mascara retails at RM23.
    • My Review : Separated my lashes, curled but not great, didn’t thicken lashes, no staying power at all, clumpy but not as bad as Lash Prism. Not recommended. Pay a bit more and get the Maybelline ones. 
    • My Rating : 1/5 stars.
    4. Lipliner

    silky girl , lipliner , seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
    LONG WEARING LIPLINER (02 MAUVE & 03 ROSE)

    Retails approximately at RM17, definitely worth trying. The colours are beautiful, easy to use but the crayons are not long-lasting as it breaks quite easily. Do give these babies a try if you are looking for affordable, good quality lipliners. They are gems
    • My Review : Love these. Been repurchasing these over and over. So far no complains except for their longetivity. But hey for RM17 per piece, Imma accept its minor flaw with open arms. Recommended.
    • My Rate : 4/5 stars.

    5. Lipstick

    silky girl , matte junkie , seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
    MATTE JUNKIE LIP CREAM (O1 RETRO)
    Haaa these Matte Junkie babies has been everyones favourites ever since they were launched few months back, including me! Its been so difficult getting my hands on them and I’ve been all over Watsons/Guardians and most of them were sold out. Fortunately one fine day at Guardian Sunway Pyramid they just restocked a whole lot of them and apa lagi I knew I just had to grab them without thinking much. 
    There are a total of 6 shades if I’m not mistaken but I only bought 1, 01 Retro. Its a very pretty nude,warm everyday colour that suits my dark lips so well. Upon applying on the lips the lip cream doesn’t instantly feels matte but it felt moisturising. Minutes later it does its magic and the product turns matte but not that drying. This retails approx RM21 but you can get it lower during promotions/sales.
    • My Review : My dry lips could take it but for everyday usage I recommend to use a lipbalm before you apply this lip cream. Decent product for its price, easy to apply, quite long-lasting. Overall I am pleased. Recommended.
    • My Rate : 4/5 stars

    silky girl , lipstick , lipcolor balm, seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

    MOISTURE BOOST LIPCOLOR BALM (04 ROSE)

    Way before the existent of Matte Junkies, I’ve been hoarding this lipcolor balm for ages. This balm is a creamy but not glossy, soothing lipcolor balm which gives the almost-full matte effect on the lips. Although it is creamy it does show quite matte on my dark lips. As of now I think SilkyGirl has launched new colors with new packaging too, for this range which I have yet to purchase. This 04 Rose is a bright blue-toned pink which initially I didn’t think it will look good on my tan skin but surprisingly it does. 

    • My Review : Easy to use and no hassle, perfect for everyday wear. Love the formula. Recommended especially for those yang baru nak try lipsticks as this balm was one of the few first lipsticks I’ve tried when I started to wear lipstick daily.
    • My Rate : 4/5 stars.

    Pretty safe to say that I love me SilkyGirl products. Although I have yet to try their other products especially their eye makeup and face range, overall I am quite pleased with their formula. Hands down SilkyGirl is a definite recommendation for those who are in search of quality drugstore makeup items that won’t break your bank. I definitely recommend their products cos even if they don’t work for you, you won’t feel as bad cos their products are relatively reasonable priced. Hehe.
    Would love to hear your reviews on SilkyGirl products too! Lemme know in the comments section below. 
    XO,
    Amirah Z.
    Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated. 

    Leave a Reply

    