Drugstore (Review) #4 : My Essence Essentials

seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Hi there! This is going to be another drugstore (makeup) products review which has been sitting in the drafts section for sooooo long. So without further ado, lets get on it! Oh before that, you might wannna grab your favourite cuppa coffee/tea and biscuits (or chocolates) cos this will be one heck of a lengthy post, which I promise you is WORTH it. Ok ready? Jom.
Ah yes Essence. A makeup product which I accidentally discovered last year I think, while casually browsing my local drugstore (or pharmacy as we call it here) Watsons. Truthfully told, I’ve never heard of this brand prior to the day I stumble upon its kiosk in Watsons and I instantly fell in love with their makeup range. Of course the first thing I notice was their price range which was unbelievably affordable but at that time I was sceptical of their quality. So, if I do remember correctly their first products I picked up were their blush and lash brow gel. After that I started building my Essence stash slowly up until today. 
Eh darn I just realised I don’t own any foundation nor face concealer from Essence. Ok got reason to buy more Essence products yessss. So yes, back to my current Essence stash lets begin with the eyes products. 
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Eyeliner, Eyeshadow Primer, Lash and Brow gel, Eyeshadow Quattro
I currently own 4 eye products and I love all of them except for 1 item, their Easy 2 Use Eyeliner Pen. I am not sure if the eyeliner I got was from a bad batch but it was such a disappointment looking at their other products were superb, top notch, quality products. 
This particular eyeliner wasn’t easy to use at all, its in the form of a liquid pen btw, the ink is streaky and cair, making it so difficult to draw a straight line let alone wings. I was quite disappointed upon purchasing this but not a big deal cos it wasn’t that pricey so heyyy takdelah rugi mana hehe.
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Easy 2 Use Eyeliner Pen
  • My Review : Save your $$ and purchase something else. Not recommended at all. 
  • My Rating : 0 / 5 stars (sorry Essence but this was very dissapointing!)
Pheww. Done with the not-so-hot Essence product but ‘fret not the other items are all my favourites Essence products. 
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Next eye product that I have is the Lash and Brow Gel Mascara which is among the first few Essence items I got. Personally, I have never seen this kind of (transparent) gel mascara for the brows in my local drugstore so when I saw this I just had to pick it up and give it a try to tame my thick, unruly eyebrows. This gel mascara works quite well in putting my brows in place, although its texture is a wee bit watery for my liking. Nevertheless wouldn’t mind repurchasing if there is still no similar drugstore product that I can find.
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Lash and Brow Gel Mascara = RM12.60
  • My Review : Handy item to have in your makeup bag but quality wise is just so-so. At times, I think I can do without this product.
  • My Rating : 3 / 5 stars 
The next item is a well-known and loved by most of the beauty Youtubers/bloggers I know, and its the infamous eyeshadow primer I Love Stage Base Eyeshadow. This eyeshadow primer was so difficult to find I tell you. I had to go to few different Watsons and was only to be able to find this at Watsons Subang Parade, I think. Despite the hype reviews I heard/read about this primer, I knew I just had to not put my high hopes before trying it out. 

So how did it fare? They hype were definitely accurate. Its consistency is very thick and creamy but so easy to blend on the eyelids. You only need to use a bit as it goes a long way, I usually pat one light streak on each lids and its enough to hold on to my eyeshadows for the rest of the day. 

seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

I Love Stage Base Eyeshadow = RM15.80
  • My Review : Great primer for its price. Perfect for beginners or people (like me) that don’t wanna spend $$ on expensive eyeshadow primers that probably work the same as the high end ones. A definite repurchase for me.
  • My Rating : 4.5 / 5 stars 
Last Essence eye product I own is one of their Eyeshadow Quattro in the shade 05 To Die For. I love this quattro, its so sleek looking, size is just perfect to bring everywhere and the colours are super pigmented. I picked out this particular quattro was because I needed an everyday, wearable eyeshadow colours for work thats easy to chuck it in my makeup bag. These shades are neutral to brown colours, perfect colours to do a natural smokey eye look or even an eyeshadow colour on its own. 
These eyeshadows are quite easy to blend although you might need that extra bit of blending to make sure it doesn’t look harsh on the lids. Not much fallout in my opinion but I usually finish my eye makeup first anyway before settling my face so even if there were fallouts I wouldn’t mind that much. All in all, for the price I paid no complains.
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Eyeshadow Quattro (05 to die for) – RM17.90
  • My Review : Perfect for beginners and for light eye makeup. Colours are buildable especially if you wet you brush and dip it in the colour. 
  • My Rating : 4 / 5 stars 
Ok halfway through you guys. A few more to go, bear with me. 
Moving on to the face products, I have 3 items with and they are the Mattifying Compact Powder, Silky Touch Blush and SooGlow! Cream to Powder Highlighter.

seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
The Mattifying Compact Powder I own is in the shade 01 Natural Beige which is a tad too light for my skintone but nonethless its not that bad. True to its name, it does mattify my very oily face and it doesn’t need much touch up throughout the day. It pretty much keeps my oily face matte for more than 6 hours. Pretty packaging as per the others and perfect compact size to bring around, although, it would be so much better if it comes with a mirror too but hey for the price this is good enough for me. Easily one of the bestest drugstore compact powder I’ve tried. 
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Mattifying Compact Powder (01 Natural Beige) = RM17.90
  • My Review : Mattifies my oily skin perfectly, easy to use. Colour is a bit too light for my NC42 skintone but not a problem for me.  
  • My Rating : 4 / 5 stars 
Before this, highlighters were not my included in my beauty must haves until I found this SooGlow! Cream to Powder Highlighter in the shade 20 Bright Up Your Life. This highlighter changed my perception and I’ve been reaching for this highlighter since day one I got it. Also because I’ve a thing for creamy products cos I think my combo skin prefers creamy products, hence this creamy highlighter does a great job in highlighting the high areas of my face.

Again, true to its description, the highlighter does feel creamy when you first touch it but when it transfers to your skin it has powder finish. And because it has a creamy texture, it soooo easy to apply so I will normally just use a clean finger to pick the highlighter up and swipe it to the areas I need it to be highlighted. This product goes a long way, you don’t need a lot of product to make it work. Essence has 2 shades including mine which has a pink undertone to it and the other shade is 10 look on the bright side which has a white, milky undertone. 

seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
SooGlow! Cream to Powder Highlighter (20 bright up your life) – RM16.85
  • My Review : Love the combination of cream to powder texture, shows up nicely on my tan skin, very easy to use. LOVE IT! 
  • My Rating : 4.5 / 5 stars 
Last but not least is blush, that pinch of colour that will brighten up your face undeniably. Essence has a few different blush shades but me being me, I will only pick up 1 first for trial and error purposes. Wouldn’t want to waste $$ on products that I don’t like now, would I? The Silky Touch Blush I reached for is in the shade 80 Autumn Peach which is yep you got it, a rich peachy colour with a cool undertone to it. 

The peachy colour is a pretty one but the consistency of the blush, well nothing to rave about. You definitely need to build up this blush, as it is quite sheer, to make the colour appear on your cheeks especially on tan skin like me. The texture is silky and not powdery but with a slight shimmer in it but once transferred to the cheeks you can barely see the shimmer. Will not repurchase, however, there is this one deep plum colour which I think I might give a shot. Hopefully its much better than this one. 

seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Silky Touch Blush (80 Autumn Peach) – RM15.80

  • My Review : Pretty colour but doesn’t quite show on my skin unless I build up the colour a number of times which can be a hassle for me in the morning. Very poor staying power.
  • My Rating : 2.75 / 5 stars 
Finally down to the last Essence items, lipliners! If you are familiar with Essence, you might know that these lipliners are the bomb. The texture is just perfectly nice and easy to draw your lips with, creamy but not too runny and the finishing texture is quite matte with a teeny bit of sheer. Nonetheless, for the price, I definitely recommend you to try and stock up on these lipliners. 
There a number of shades you can choose from, I have 4 of the lipliners and am planning to pick more soon. Will definitely do a separate review and swatch post once I get hold of them which is very difficult as they always run out of stock. See ramai kan yang suka?
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
These lipliners come in the form of pencils and pens, which to be honest doesn’t make any difference to me. I don’t mind sharpening pencils and as for the pens they tend to break easily but these Essence ones are quite durable I must say. I’ve accidentally dropped them a couple of times and they still remain intact thank god. 
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Colour payoff is amazing, so damn pretty which I think suits every skintone perfectly. For medium to dark skintone gals like me, the shade 05 Lovely Frappucino is such a lovely nude brownish colour that shows well on my lips and mind you, my natural lip colour is dark. A lot of drugstore lipsticks formula just couldn’t show on my lips but these Essence ones surprisingly does a great job, unfortunately for one shade which is the 08 Girl Next Door. This 08 shade is a very pretty nude when swatched on my hand but when I applied on my lips I looked so pale, thus I think this shade suits better on lighter skintone.
So far my Essence lipliners are all in the nude/brownish family except for one in the shade 06 Satin Mauve which is a beautiful plum mauve colour. I love, love this colour. I am planning to pick up a few more other plum shades soonest possible, or probably the whole range of their lipliners, just because. Hehe. As for 11 In The Nude shade, it is a pinkish nude which is more suitable for lighter skintones rather than mine but nonetheless I can still work this lipliner and pair it with a suitable nude lipstick for my skintone and lip colour.  
All in all, these lipliners are a definite repurchase for me simply because I just cannot justify myself to purchase a hetfy price for a lipliner which I rarely use anyway. However, the choice is of course yours. If you’re a beginner and you just need something quick/easy/cheap to use, then these Essence lipliners are for you. 
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, essence, essence malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Top (L to R) : Longlasting lipliner (08 girl next door) – RM7.30
Longlasting lipliner (05 lovely frappucino) – RM7.30

Bottom (L to R) : Lipliner (06 satin mauve) –  RM7.30
Lipliner (11 in the nude) – RM7.30

  • My Review : Love the texture, creamy yet easy to handle. Quite a numder of shades to choose from and of course love the price! 
  • My Rating : 4 / 5 stars 
In a nutshell, I love Essence mainly because they are affordable and their products are useable/bearable. Can’t really complain now can you when you purchase most of the Essence makeup items for under RM20 each? On that note, I will continue to keep on buying Essence products and enjoy my drugstore makeup for my everyday use. Also hoping Essence Malaysia will keep on bringing new Essence products in the future, sebabnya Essence Malaysia, do bear in mind that you have got a number of solid Essence customers here in Malaysia tau!
Oh BTW, the prices I stated in this post are based on the prices I found online at Watsons, which you can easily place your orders here. Enjoy! 😉
Have you tried Essence? Which items have you tried and how did they fare for you? Would love to know! 
Till then,
XO,
Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated. 

One thought on “Drugstore (Review) #4 : My Essence Essentials

  1. Amirah Z says:

    hehe thank God I'm not the only one! the highlighter tu surpisingly works for me, or probably it is streaky but I tak perasan cos I do have oily skin so nampak cam blend in nicely to the skin. haha.

    Anyways, Thank you for dropping by Ieyra! XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

