Drugstore (Review) #3 : Maybe It’s Maybelline (Malaysia Edition)

seo, images, drugstore, watson, guardian, maybelline, affordable makeup, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Heyya! Am gonna review another drugstore makeup brand well-known to everyone, Maybelline. Maybelline has long been in the “affordable yet top notch quality” range especially here in Malaysia. For me personally, Maybelline was among the first ever makeup brands I owned and am very much still loving and using it till this day.  
For this post I’ll be reviewing my current Maybelline items I own as of to date. Thus, there won’t be any new, latest Maybelline products in this post BUT will definitely blog in a different post IF I purchase any new Maybelline items in the future. Lets begin.
1. Concealer
seo, images, drugstore, watson, guardian, maybelline, affordable makeup, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Maybelline Pure Mineral Concealer in the shade 02 – RM21

The only face product I have from this brand is their Pure Mineral Concealer which I am quite happy about but unfortunately they only come in 2 shades, 01 which is the lighter shade and 02 the darker shade. Drugstore concealers are hard to find, for me at least, that is able to suit my skin tone and covers my scars and imperfections flawlessly. The only concealer (so far) that is 100% perfect for me is the Mac Studio Finish Concealer as it does its job so well that I don’t need layers of concealer nor foundation to cover the imperfections on my face. Hence I am always on the hunt for the perfect drugstore concealer (where art thou?) that will do its job well regardless of the money paid :P. 

The prime usage of concealers for me is to be able to conceal my acne scars. I could live without concealing my eye bags everyday as they’re not that bad (IMHO) as compared to my acne scars, although I did try to conceal my under eye area with this concealer and they didn’t work ie creases especially if I didn’t set it properly. As for covering my imperfections, well, it sure does cover them but I gotta blend the concealer thoroughly to reach the perfect coverage. Mind you, my acne scars are bad ie macam kawah kat bulan tu, yup that uglehh. But hey, its affordable and its not that bad so ain’t complaining much although I did find a new drugstore concealer (a tad more pricey tho’) which I did review about in my March favourite here.
  • My Review : Blends easily into the skin and love the creamy consistency but creases into the fine lines around my under eye area.
  • My Rating : 3.75 / 5 stars

2. Eyebrow
seo, images, drugstore, watson, guardian, maybelline, affordable makeup, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Maybelline Fashion Brow Cream Pencil in Grey 
Brows are very important to me, although sometimes I do leave them unattended when I just don’t have the time to spare on my rowdy brows. Looking for brow products are similar to looking for needles in a haystack, it is darn frustrating especially drugstore eyebrow products. I’ve to admit there a number of drugstore brow products widely available here in Malaysia, I just can’t seem to find the one that suits me well. 
So when I saw this Fashion Brow Cream Pencil, I was intrigued. Plus it has the colour I want ie grey as I think the brown ones are just so blergh for my black, dark brows and the texture of this brow pencil is so creamy that it glides nicely on my skin. The only think I don’t like about this pencil is that its a pencil, which also means it doesn’t come with a spoolie on the other end. Other than that I love this pencil. I have not seen this pencil anywhere in Watsons nor Guardian, thus am not sure if these are discontinued but will defo repurchase this.

  • My Review : Easy to use/draw your brows, perfect for beginners like me. Suprisingly, even with its creamy texture, it stays on oily skin pretty darn well. 
  • My Rating : 4 / 5 stars

3. Mascara

seo, images, drugstore, watson, guardian, maybelline, affordable makeup, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup


Maybelline’s Lash Sensational & Hypercurl Volum’ Express Mascara

You can never leave out Maybelline’s mascara in your Maybelline collection, well for me at least. I think I have only been using their mascara and nothing else. They produce such fantastic mascaras and for the prices I’ve paid for these mascaras? Money well spent! I currently have 2 in my stash and these 2 are my favourites, so far. Although I have heard about the Essence mascaras as well but I’ve yet to try any of them. Anyhoo, I have yet to be disappointed with Maybelline’s mascaras so keep up the good work Maybelline and don’t let us “mascara lovers” down!
Between these 2, the Hypercurl’ was the first purchase and was I blown away with this mascara. True to its name, it “hyper” curls AND gives so much volume to my eyelashes that at one point it seemed like I was wearing falsies, no kidding. Bear in mind my lashes are the short, straight, pointing downwards type and I must use the eyelash curler to help create pretty, upwards lashes. The only downside of this Hypercurl’ mascara is that they weren’t giving that long length I wanted, thickness wise they were on point. 
  • My Review : Great product if you only fancy thick lashes and not lengthening the lashes. 
  • My Rating : 4 / 5 stars

As for the Lash Sensational mascara, I LOVE THIS like hands down love. The name suits the product so damn well. This mascara lengthens my lashes like nobody business wei AND at the same time it thickens my lashes to give that full lashes effect ala falsies. This is no joke girls. However, I do need to coat a few layers to get that ultimate full lashes effect which I rarely do cos to be honest, even with 1/2 coats it does its job pretty satisfying for me. 
Just like every great product, there will be that 1 drawback which I’ll pretend it doesn’t exist just cos I love that product so damn much. Does anyone feels the same? This Lash Sensational is so waterproof that it requires multiple cleansing motions to get rid of the mascara till its very end. I’ve tried cleansing wipes, cleansing oil and cleansing water, the best for me is the cleansing water as the wipes will definitely create a tug-o-war affair with my eyes and the cleansing oil just hurts my eyes so bad. 
And yes sometimes when I feel like it, I’ll use both these mascaras at the same time and I’ll get long AND thick eyelashes without the hassle of putting on falsies. BAM! ha lepas tu nak cuci mata tu ha menjawab la ye, duduk depan cermin for 20 mins to get of the mascara sahaja. 
  • My Review : If you love lengthening your lashes, this product is your key to long lashes girl. 
  • My Rating : 4.5 / 5 stars
** If I would have to choose between these 2, I’ll go for the Lash Sensational just because I prefer lengthening my lashes than thickening them. Its all up to your personal preference, nonetheless, cos I believe whichever Maybelline mascara you choose, you will not be disappointed. 🙂

4Eyeliner
seo, images, drugstore, watson, guardian, maybelline, affordable makeup, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

L to R
Maybelline Colossal Kajal – RM21
Maybelline Hypersharp Liner – RM18 (on sale)

Yasssss my favourite eye makeup item, eyeliners. I am and will always be a liquid liner gal, generally eyeliner pens. For me, they are easier to use especially if you are the cat-eyed/ wing liner lover kinda person like yours truly here. Maybelline eyeliners are hands down the best ever among the other drugstore eyelines I’ve tried so far although Silkygirl eyeliners are catching up quite fast. 
If i am not mistaken , the Colossal Kajal is the sole non-liquid liner I own and I vaguely remember why I got this in the first place. Nonetheless, if you are the likes that loves to line your eyes with thick, bold lines, this eyeliner is for you. I personally have only tried this eyeliner a few times as its pretty difficult to draw a wing using this eyeliner. Oh but I’ve tried tight lining my waterline with this and its perfect. 
  • My Review : It glides on pretty well and doesn’t smudge easily. Super smooth especially for tight lining your waterline.
  • My Rating : 3.75 / 5 stars
Ah yes, the Hypersharp Liner. My current holy grail eyeliner, hands down the best ever I’ve owned. This eyeliner pen doesn’t dry fast, it doesn’t smudge for more than 5/6 hours on the eyelids (even when my eyelids were so oily!) and its so easy to handle ie to draw that wing yo! The colour is just nice, not too dark nor light, just the right amount of blackness. LOL. The size of the pen is just ideal to hold it in your hands and yes I cannot find any faults in this Hypersharp Liner. 

  • My Review : Holy grail. Easy to use, smudge-less and just flawless. 
  • My Rating : 5 / 5 stars

5. Eyeshadow
seo, images, drugstore, watson, guardian, maybelline, affordable makeup, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup

Top (L-R) : Audicious Asphalt, Bad to the Bronze
Bottom : Tough as Taupe RM13 (sale)

Last but not least is an oldie but a goodie, and its the Maybelline Eyestudio Color Tattoo Eyeshadow in the shades Audicious Asphalt, Bad to the Bronze and Tough as Taupe. These eyeshadows have been on the market for quite some time and I’ve been loving them from day 1 I got them. One of the reasons I fell in love with these eyeshadows were because of their creamy texture that made it so easy to pat on my eyelids AND they stay on like mad even on oily lids aka my lids.
I picked up these 3 shades as I figured that these 3 colours were the easiest and neutral colours to wear on an everyday basis and I was right, especially the Bad to the Bronze shade which is my most favourite among all 3 that I own. On a lazy day I would just pat on the Bad to the Bronze or Audicious Asphalt on my eyelids and I’m good to go, I’ll just use it as an eyeshadow base before I put on other eyeshadows and surprisingly it works quite well too. It gives that extra oomph.

However, the Tough as Taupe shade is a bit too difficult to work with. Unlike the other 2 shades, the texture of this shade wasn’t as creamy. In fact it is so hard-like that even if I wet my brushes and try to pick up the eyeshadow, it won’t stay on the brush. I don’t know if mine was from a bad batch but I had hope it would have worked as I quite like the muted grey colour.

seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, maybelline malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
Swatched once 

From top to bottom:-
Audicious Alphalt
Bad to the Bronze
Tough as Taupe
These textures of these eyeshadows are so creamy and very easy to put on the eyelids especially for makeup noobs like me. Pigment wise takyah cakap lah, the colors are so pigmented that sometimes I forgot these were drugstore/ affordable eyeshadows! 
  • My Review : Very pigmented, creamy texture hence easy to use/blend on eyelids. Staying power is superb even on oily eyelids. 
  • My Rating : 5 / 5 stars
Fuhhh didn’t realise its gonna be a lengthy post, apologies. Huahuahua. Nevertheless, these are the Maybelline items I currently have in my stash which I foresee there will be more in the near future as Maybelline has just released quite a number of new products in our market and I might wanna check them out soon. In the mean time, whats your favourite Maybelline product ever? Do share loves! 
Till then,
XO
p/s: If you like this post you might enjoy my Catrice review here 
Disclaimer : This is a personal blog. All content provided in this post and blog are for informational purposes only. I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. Any views belong solely to the me and I do not represent those of people or organisations that I may or may or may not be associated professional or personal capacity, unless explicitly stated. 
One thought on “Drugstore (Review) #3 : Maybe It’s Maybelline (Malaysia Edition)

Leave a Reply

