Drugstore (Review) #2 : Catching up with Catrice (Malaysia Edition – as of March 2016)

Hye darling readers! How have ya’ll been? Hope all is well at your end. Anyhoo, today I’m gonna story mory with ya’ll one of my favourite drugstore beauty products which I think deserves a bit more spotlight to other Malaysians who are in the same boat as me ie always on the hunt for good quality and of course, affordable drugstore bargains! Hehe.
Without further ado, I bring to you … *drum rolls* the brand Catrice. I know, i know, Catrice has reach our shores for quite some time now but hey can’t blame a girl for being late on the bandwagon kan? So ‘fret not darlings, there is no shame in not knowing the “it” brands, as long as the products work on you and you love them, you can rave about it anytime, anywhere! ūüėČ
So as of March 2016, these are a few of my Catrice collection so far. Oh and before I forget, Catrice products ranges from roughly RM7 to RM 30, I think. I could be wrong but generally they won’t cost you a bomb, that I assure you. Oh and also, Catrice is sold exclusively at Guardian only so you cannot find these babies in other drugstores here in Malaysia.
seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup
One of the reasons why I got attracted to Catrice was their packaging. Just look at those clear acrylic cases, they don’t look (and feel!) cheap at all. So far I have not dropped any of them so I can’t say much on their durability, but they do feel legitimately sturdy to me.
If I am not mistaken, the first ever Catrice product I purchased was their All Round Concealer palette. Before I found this I’ve been wanting the LA pro concealer ie the green and orange corrector but couldn’t find the right seller. Thus when I found this I got so excited, I knew I had to purchase this right away cos believe it or not, this palette was quite hard to find.
This concealer palette contains 2 colour correctors, green and pink, where the green corrector is to neutralise redness on your face and the pink to conceal your dark circles. So far these 2 corrector works just fine but not great, I think it depends on your skin condition. I have combination oily and dry skin, remote acne scars on my cheeks, mild dark circles and redness on my skin. I find that the pink does not cover my dark circles as much as I would want it to but it does the job. 
The other 3 concealer colours are basically your normal “skintone” colours which I don’t fit into any of them. LOL. Well, I could work with the darkest one in the palette but it doesn’t cover my acne scars perfectly. And what I usually do is, I’d mix the darkest and middle colour to roughly get the “perfect” colour for my skin tone. As you can see in the photo below, I’ve not used the lightest shade at all. Hmm I could use that as a highlighter under my eyes, kan? Okay, will experiment with that soon.
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice concealer malaysia, catrice concealer
    ALLROUND Concealer Palette = I forgot, sorry!
    • My Review¬†: It glides nicely on my skin but I gotta blend it slowly to make sure it doesn’t look cakey afterwards. I’ve tried using a makeup sponge but I prefer to just use my ring finger as I find the concealer blends better.
    • My Rating¬†: 3.75 / 5 stars.
    Next is their eyebrow products. Personally, it has been so hard for me to find a decent drugstore eyebrow product that works for my brows. I have unruly, long, dark brows that sometimes SS would say “why do you need to lukis lagi your eyebrow tu?” welllll because they look all over the place and not neat and not on fleek. Thats why I’ve been searching high and low for good drugstore eyebrow products.
    If you’d ask me, I would prefer an eyebrow product that comes together with a spoolie. Why? The reason being, I don’t need to bring an extra makeup tool (read:spoolie) in my makeup bag. Harhar. Anyway, I’ve tried power ones, pencil ones but none of these type works. Or maybe its just me, hmmm. Yeah I think that could be it. Oh but I have yet to try gel ones like the Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade, anyone know a great dupe? Do let me know in the comments section below pleaseeee.¬†
    I purchased 2 different brow products on different occasions just because 1 wasn’t doing the job I’d hoped it would do. I bought their eyebrow filler first only to then find out that it would work great on people that has lesser hairs in their brows to work with. As I mentioned, I have bushy brows, so this filler made my brows a whole lot more darker and “bushier” than it should. Ada sekali tu, my brows looked like an ulat bulu… I am not kidding. That was what SS called them when he saw me. Haha.¬†
    Don’t get me wrong, this eyebrow filler works well, the colour payoff is great and I for one wouldn’t mind repurchasing it unless I find a better one of course. I am not sure whether they have different colours but the one I got is dark brown. It would be great (for my dark, bushy brow) if it comes in a dark grey-ish colour.¬†
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice eyebrow, catrice eyebrow malaysia
    The second brow product I have is their brow pencil in the colour dark brown and THIS I LOVE. The texture of the pencil is so creamy that it makes drawing on your brows so easy and effective. I am no pro especially in drawing brows but of all the brow products I’ve tried and used, so far this pencil works miraculously well on me. On top of that, the colour suits me brows well too as it has this ashy greyish tone in it. Anddddddd, it comes with a spoolie on the other end. Hooyeah!
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice eyebrow, catrice eyebrow malaysia
    Eyebrow filler perfecting & shaping gel (010) – RM18.90
    Eyebrow stylist in the shade Don’t let me brow’n¬†(040) – RM14.90
    • My Review¬†: Brow Filler works well if you have sparse brow hairs as it does a great job in creating fuller, natural looking brows.
    • My Rating¬†¬†: 3.75 / 5 stars.
    • My Review¬†: Brow Pencil is the bomb. If you are a beginner or you just don’t have the mad skills of drawing your brows on fleek (like me), this is a great product for you to try and practise with. Its so user friendly, I doubt you’ll have trouble using it.
    • My Rating¬†¬†: 4.5 / 5 stars
    I love buying and hoarding eyeshadows, notice the word hoard there? That’s because I rarely use eyeshadows on a daily basis aka to the office unless I feel really rajin that day, then I’ll put on some colours on my eyes. Itu pun brown, neutral colours LOL. But like I said, I love hoarding ’em beautiful eyeshadows, just like the only one (for now) Catrice eyeshadow that I own. I remember buying this piece late last year as I was looking a deep mauve eyeshadow colour to wear to my cousin’s wedding. Saw this particular one and instantly fell in love with the colour and must say, its fairly pigmented especially if you prime your eyelids first with a base.
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice eyeshadow, catrice eyeshadow malaysia
    Absolute eye colour (570 Plum up the jam) – RM15.90
    (without eyeshadow base/primer)
    • My Review¬†:¬†For¬†the price, no¬†complains. It¬†blends¬†easily, pigmented and not much¬†fall¬†out.¬†
    • My Rating¬†: 3.75 / 5 stars
    Okay, done with the eyes. Phew. Now let’s move on to the cheeks area. First stop, bronzer/contour. Heard a number of good reviews so I thought why not, lets try it out and because of my eagerness, the instant I saw this I straight away grab it without swatching the different shades first. Turns out, this shade didn’t compliment my skin tone that well but ok-lah, wearable. Can see jugaklah the colour on my skin but not great. Tulah gelojoh kan padan muka saya.
    Anyway, put aside my carelessness, the formula of this bronzer is uh-mazing for its price. Its very pigmented, so easy to use and blend. As for now, I only have this bronzer in my makeup stack so I do use this for contouring my cheeks and nose regularly. I might pick up a different shade the next time I make my visit to Guardian.
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice bronzer, catrice bronzer malaysia

    Sun glow matt bronzing powder for darker skin (020 deep bronze) – I forgot, sorry!
    • My Review¬†: 2 thumbs up for its formula. Very easy to use for an amateur like me. Will definitely repurchase, this time in the right shade. Hehe.
    • My Rating¬†: 4 / 5 stars
    The next item that comes after bronzer is of course, blusher. I must admit, I picked out this blusher just cause I needed one at that time and this was the only one available. Didn’t quite like the colour payoff as it doesn’t show on my skin tone. From the palette it looked a bit peachy but when I blended it on my cheeks, I saw nothing. Ok, takdelah nothing but the colour was merely there. It could be because of the formula itself or I again, chose the wrong colour. Either way, I didn’t enjoy this blush.
    This particular shade would probably look beautiful on fair skin as the colour is true to its name, Rose Royce. Its a beautiful rosey pink, which unfortunately didn’t turn out well on my yellow tone warm skin.¬†
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice blush, catrice blush malaysia
    Defining blush (020 Rose royce) – I forgot, sorry!
    • My Review¬†: Not the best pigmented drugstore blusher I’ve tried. Gotta layer it a couple of times to get the ¬†decent amount to show on the cheeks. Again, I might wrong as I got the wrong shade. Will probably not repurchase this.
    • My Rating¬†: 2.5 / 5 stars
    Last but not least, my current favourite product, lipstick! Catrice has a number of lipstick ranges, from its matte to sheer/lipgloss but I have only one kind, the matte one.
    This was the latest Catrice product I got among the others. FYI, my natural lip colour is very dark so I have been having problems getting the lip colour that suits my skin tone AND to get it appear on my lips without it looking very funny. So because of that, almost all my makeup-wearing life ie +- 5 years I would only resort to wearing the nivea lip balm as that never fails to transfer the right amount of colour to my lips. 
    Anyhoo, I have now be bit more braver on trying actual lipsticks and making them work on me lips. Thus when I saw this deep plum-ish lip colour I figured how wrong can this colour go on anyone, right? Oh yes I am so RIGHT! You guysssss, this colour is so damn pretty that it got me so sayang to use it so I am being very kedekut to us this baby right now. Plus, the formula is so moisturising to my dry/chapped lips and it doesn’t look flakey at all when I apply it to my lips. Oh and it has matte finish too, WIN for me sebabnya lip glosses or anything that is sheer doesn’t go well with my dark lips.
    This lipstick range has a number of other shades which are all so gorgeous in my honest opinion. There’s this one nude colour, amagawd so pretty when I swatched in on my hands but didn’t purchase it cos I know it just wouldn’t show on my lips. So galssss if you ever see these lipsticks do give them a try, promise they’re worth the $$.
    seo, images, drugstore, watson malaysia, guardian malaysia, catrice, catrice malaysia, affordable makeup malaysia, malaysia, cheap makeup, makeup, catrice lipstick, catrice lipstick malaysia

    Ultimate colour (340 Berry bradshaw) РRM21.90
    • My Review : Moisturising, true colour payoff, although not that long lasting but hey I don’t mind reapplying it. LOVE LOVE this lipstick.¬†
    • My Rating : 4.5 / 5 stars
    There you go my lengthy post on Catrice products that I own as of today. All in all, I love Catrice. They are very affordable and user friendly, in my opinion. Sometimes we don’t have to spend a lot of $$ to get the perfect products, we get use with what we can afford and make it WORK for ourselves. Of course, there’s nothing wrong in getting the high end ones if you wanna splurge on yourself which by all means, go ahead! Cos I for one, love splurging if I get the chance once in a while. Hehe.

    A big thank you to YOU, the readers for taking a bit of your time to read and hopefully this helps if you have been thinking on whether Catrice is worth the try. Well, it is! Happy hunting and enjoy your week ahead loves!

    psst: Have you tried Catrice? What’s your favourite? Share with us! ‚̧

    XO,

    Disclaimer : I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. I am also not an affiliate with the abovementioned company. 

    One thought on “Drugstore (Review) #2 : Catching up with Catrice (Malaysia Edition – as of March 2016)

    1. Liyliz Yusof says:

      Liz tak de pun barang dr jenama ni. Kawan liz ada 1 blusher ni, pd liz utk org yg xda masalah kulit ok kut pakai, mcm liz sensitive, dah lama tk pakai blusher. Sob-sob.

      By the way thanks dear letak link blog liz dkt bloglist. #terharu Muahh

      Like

    Leave a Reply

    