Haul #2 | Affordable Books from DeBook Room & Carousell

This is actually an overdue post. Heh. I just got time to snap photos over the long CNY weekend break. Anyhoo, I am delighted to share with everyone my current favourite websites to shop for books, be it new or pre-loved.
Late last year I discovered a Book Community for Malaysians on Youtube and they call themselves MYBIBLIOMANIACS. Upon finding them on various social media platforms, that is when I found out about this one website where you are able to buy books at a cheaper price compared to the local bookstores here in Malaysia such as MPH, Popular, Kinokuniya, etc. What I did next was despicable, I bought 9 books (so far) in total, on 2 different occasions. Told ya I went nuts. 
The website is called DeBook Room. It has its own IG as well, @debookroom. They update their website with new books regularly, and their service is fairly fast. 
If I had known of this existence earlier, I’d restrain myself from buying books at the bookstores. 😛

During my first transaction with DeBook Room, I bought 4 books, 2 of them were on promotion ie The One Plus One by Jojo Moyes & Paper Towns by John Green. The other 2 were normal priced but still cheaper than the regular physical bookstores.
The other reason why I love this website is also because you can choose your shipping method. You may choose either by Pos Daftar or Pos Laju. The shipping price will vary depending on your books weight. Hence, this is a very useful and reasonable option. For both transactions, I opted for Pos Daftar, although it was written there 5-7 working days, I got my books earlier than 5 days, Of course, if you choose Pos Laju you will receive ’em much earlier. Personally, I really don’t mind. As long as I can save a wee bit money whenever I can, I’m good. 😉
Finished reading (late last year) Me Before You & Paper Towns

My second transaction was made end of January 2016. They were having Chinese New Year Sale and I thought this promotion was too good to ignore. Browsed through their website and found a few books I’ve been wanting to read but didn’t feel like paying full price for ’em. Heh. 
This time around I manage to score 5 books for roughly the same price I paid for my first transaction. Sweet! Oh and all these books were priced no more than RM20 except for Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore and they were brand new except for The Night Circus which was preloved. 
Eventhough The Night Circus was a preloved book, I was very satisfied with its condition. It almost looked and felt brand new when I received it. No folded pages or anything like that sort. Kudos DeBook Room!

So eager to start reading these! 

Check them out regularly and follow them on IG for their latest update on new books and promotional prices. Trust me, you would not want to miss it. 
Oh and before I forget, I did a bit of shopping too on Carousell. Bought 3 different preloved books from 3 different sellers. Each book cost less than RM20 excluding postage which for me is so worth it. They were really safe-kept books and none of them looked used. They were definitely well loved by their previous owners. Two thumbs up from me! 
Carousell is another platform where you can search and look for cheaper alternative books (and other things too! etc makeup)

Currently reading Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Ok I have enough books for this time being.. I think. Gotta finish them all soon so that I can get more as I just saw some books I want on DeBook Room and they’re on sale! 
What books are you currently reading OR wanting to read? Share with me!

Disclaimer : I purchased everything in this post using my own money and was not sent any of the things mentioned above. I am also not an affiliate with the abovementioned company. 

XO,


Leave a Reply

